ETRENNES INTERESSANTES des quatre parties du monde, et des troupes de France pour l’an sextile, IIIè de la République.

Price : 13.500,00 

One of the most precious revolutionary bindings to appear on the market for several years.
An exceptional and interesting revolutionary binding decorated with Phrygian bonnets and the eye of vigilance.

1 in stock

À Paris, chez Langlois, Demorain, 1794.

24mo. Collation: 127 pp., 2 folded sheets presenting 7 maps, paper loss at bottom of pp. 23 and 105.

Red morocco, large scalloped reserve in white morocco decorated with Phrygian bonnets on a gilt dotted background, in the center a piece of green morocco decorated in the same way, in the center at the head and foot a mosaic fleuron in citron morocco, spine with red or olive green morocco, decorated with a Phrygian cap, the eye of vigilance and pikes surmounted by Phrygian caps, doublures and endpapers in polychrome floral paper on a gilt background, edges gilt. Revolutionary binding in contemporary mosaic morocco.

Size of the binding: 101 x 54 mm.

A folding world map with on the verso a map of Europe and a map of France, at the end, a folding leaf, with on the recto a map of Asia and one of Africa, on the verso, a map of North America, and a map of South America.

Read more

An exceptional and interesting revolutionary binding decorated with Phrygian bonnets and the eye of vigilance.

To establish the legitimacy of the new regime, the revolutionaries had to rise to a twofold challenge: firstly, to undermine the people’s confidence in the Old Régime, and secondly, to instill faith in the republican regime. Following in the footsteps of a monarchy imprinted in people’s minds through symbols such as the fleur de lys, the crown, the scepter, the white flag and even the king’s portrait, the young republic very quickly succeeded in forging its own signs of recognition and support: a calendar (even if it was not imposed), values (liberty, equality, fraternity), a flag with three colours, a national anthem as well as an allegory of Liberty confused with that of the Republic and soon of France and known as Marianne…

Symbols, visual entities that were more or less simple but highly educational – they could be easily recognized by the people – played a key role in this process. Concrete objects had to be found to contrast with the symbols of the monarchy, offering a certain ‘figurability’, such as the Phrygian cap, the eye of vigilance, the cockade referring to the united nation or the pike evoking the people’s weapon. These revolutionary symbols were displayed for all to see during civic celebrations, worn in processions, pinned or embroidered on clothing, painted on walls and hangings, engraved on everyday objects or bookbindings.

Thus united by the same culture and the same belief, the people were to participate in a cultural project of regeneration.

A number of decrees were issued to impose the use of the new symbols:

– 3 October 1793: “the fleurs de lys will be replaced by the bonnet of liberty”.

One of the most precious revolutionary bindings to appear on the market for several years, combining mosaic morocco in five colours: white, citron, black, red and brown, a background of gilt dots, revolutionary symbols and a remarkable state of preservation.

See less information

Additional information

Auteur

ETRENNES INTERESSANTES

Éditeur

À Paris, chez Langlois, Demorain, 1794.

ETRENNES INTERESSANTES des quatre parties du monde, et des troupes de France pour l’an sextile, IIIè de la République.

Prix : 13.500,00 

L’une des plus précieuses reliures révolutionnaires apparue sur le marché depuis plusieurs années.
Exceptionnel et intéressant modèle de reliure révolutionnaire orné de bonnets phrygiens et de l’œil de la vigilance.

1 en stock

À Paris, chez Langlois, Demorain, 1794.

In-24. Collation : 127 pp., 2 ff. repliés présentant 7 cartes, manque de papier en bas des pp. 23 et 105.

Maroquin rouge, grande réserve festonnée de maroquin blanc avec décor de bonnets phrygiens sur fond de pointillés or, au centre pièce de maroquin vert ornée de même, dans le sens de la hauteur, au centre, en tête et en pied, fleuron mosaïqué de maroquin citron, dos à faux nerfs mosaïqué de maroquin rouge ou vert olive, orné d’un bonnet phrygien, de l’œil de la vigilance et de piques surmontées de bonnets phrygiens, doublure et gardes de papier floral polychrome sur fond or, tranches dorées. Reliure Révolutionnaire en maroquin mosaïqué de l’époque.

Dimensions de la reliure : 101 x 54 mm.

Une Mappemonde dépliante avec au verso une carte de l’Europe et une carte de la France, à la fin, un feuillet dépliant, avec au recto une carte de l’Asie et une de l’Afrique, au verso, une carte de l’Amérique septentrionale, et une carte de l’Amérique méridionale.

Lire plus

Exceptionnel et intéressant modèle de reliure révolutionnaire orné de bonnets phrygiens et de l’œil de la vigilance.

Pour asseoir la légitimité du nouveau régime, les révolutionnaires devaient relever un double défi : d’une part saper la confiance du peuple dans l’Ancien Régime, d’autre part susciter la foi envers le régime républicain. Succédant à une monarchie inscrite dans les esprits à travers les symboles comme la fleur de lys, la couronne, le sceptre, le drapeau blanc, le portrait même du roi, la jeune république parvint très rapidement à se forger ses propres signes de reconnaissance et d’adhésion : un calendrier (même s’il ne s’imposa pas), des valeurs (liberté, égalité, fraternité), un drapeau aux trois couleurs, un hymne national ainsi qu’une allégorie de la Liberté confondue avec celle de la République et bientôt de la France et connue sous le nom de Marianne…

Les symboles, entités visuelles plus ou moins simples mais très pédagogiques – elles pouvaient être reconnues facilement par le peuple -, jouèrent un rôle de premier plan dans ce processus. Il fallait trouver des objets concrets à opposer aux symboles de la monarchie, offrant une « figurabilité » certaine, comme par exemple le bonnet phrygien, l’œil de la vigilance, la cocarde renvoyant à la nation unie ou la pique évoquant l’arme du peuple. Ces symboles révolutionnaires furent déployés aux yeux de tous durant les fêtes civiques, portés lors des cortèges, épingles ou brodés sur les vêtements, peints sur les murs et les tentures, gravés sur des objets quotidiens ou sur les reliures.

Ainsi réunis par la même culture et une même croyance, le peuple devait participer à un projet culturel de régénération.

Un certain nombre de décrets furent pris pour imposer l’emploi des nouveaux symboles :

– 3 octobre 1793 : « les fleurs de lys seront remplacées par le bonnet de la liberté ».

L’une des plus précieuses reliures révolutionnaires apparues sur le marché depuis plusieurs années, unissant un maroquin mosaïqué aux cinq teintes : blanc, citron, noir, rouge et brun, un fond de pointillés dorés, des symboles révolutionnaires et un état de préservation remarquable.

Voir moins d'informations

Informations complémentaires

Auteur

ETRENNES INTERESSANTES

Éditeur

À Paris, chez Langlois, Demorain, 1794.